Grace United Methodist Church scholarships 2019

Pictured are Grace United Methodist Church's 2019 scholarship recipients. In the front row from left to right are Fallon Morgan, Carly Ryberg and Alyssa Casler. In the second row left to right are David Parler, Jessica Ryberg, Thomas Catoe, Bryson Parler, Stephanie Yano, Tyler McCabe and Cindy Parler. In the top row are Ashlyn Gambrell, Reagan Gambrell, Ben Delaughter, Malia Brown, Thomas Newell and Andrew Morris.

Grace United Methodist Church is blessed with seven different funds that provide scholarships for graduating seniors and college students. The 2019 scholarship winners were announced during the annual Graduation Sunday service coordinated by Youth Director Andrew Morris.

The Dr. W. G. Watson Scholarship was established to honor Watson’s 100th birthday in 2010. The Watson Scholarship was awarded to Anna Hendrick.

The Bonnie Beneteau Scholarship was established in in 2003. The Beneteau Scholarship is made possible through funds left to the children and youth of Grace. The scholarship is to go to students based on the diversity of their activities. The winners of the Beneteau Scholarship are Anna McKinsey Amos, Julia Smith, Emily Miller, Cameron Quinn and Sarah Bigger.

Since it was established in 1989, the Marge and Wallace Taylor Scholarship has awarded over a hundred scholarships. This year Benjamin DeLaughter, Milena Picciano, Andrew Doolittle, Caroline Waldrop, Eric Outlaw and Zachary Russ received the Taylor Scholarships.

The Michael Hargrove Scholarship was first presented in 2002. His family was established by his family. He was the son of Mr. and Mrs. David Hargrove and the grandson of Mr. and Mrs. Raymond Hargrove. Carly Ryberg, Stephanie Yano and Fallon Morgan are the 2019 Hargrove Scholarship winners.

The Martin L. and Sue Grigsby Terry Scholarship was established in 2003. It is given to high school senior members of Grace seeking post-secondary education. This year Alyssa Casler and Jordan Gambrell received the Terry Scholarship.

The United Methodist Women Scholarship was the first to be awarded in Grace Church in 1957. Irene B. Miler presented the Woman’s Society of Christian Service (as it was then known) a check for $25. The Society decided to use the gift as the basis of a scholarship fund. The UMW Scholarship was presented this year to Allison Hendrick, Katelyn Lowry, Taylor Doolittle, Elizabeth Parler, Tyler McCabe, Thomas Catoe, Reagan Gambrell and Ashlyn Gambrell.

Established in 2019, in loving memory of Julie Hendrick by her family, the Julie Anne Crawford Hendrick Memorial Scholarship is presented to graduating high school seniors who are members of Grace UMC and are planning to attend a four-year college. This year Byrson Parler and Thomas Newell received the scholarship.

During the Graduation Sunday Service a gift from the church was given to each of its high school seniors by a set of their Sunday School teachers, Dr. and Mrs. David Parler: Maria Brown, Thomas Catoe, Benjamin DeLaughter, Emily Doyle, Ashlyn Gambrell, Reagan Gambrell, Tyler McCabe, Fallon Morgan, Bryson Parler, Carly Ryberg, Jessica Ryberg, all of North Augusta High School; Alyssa Casler of Cross Creek High School; Thomas Newell of Lakeside High School; Stephanie Yano of Fox Creek High School and Jordan Brooks of Augusta Preparatory Day School.

Lindsey Hodges is a general assignment reporter at the Aiken Standard and North Augusta Star. Follow her on Twitter at @LindseyNHodges. 

Lindsey is the North Augusta reporter at the Aiken Standard and North Augusta Star. She graduated from the University of South Carolina in 2017, and grew up in Hodges, SC.